Fantasy Author Charles Moffat
About the Author
Book Catalogue
Upcoming Books

Fiction by Charles Moffat

Charles Moffat is a Canadian writer who writes both fiction and non-fiction. He has been writing and publishing fictional works since the age of ten. His early works were primarily were short stories about pirate adventures and by the age of twelve he was publishing his fantasy stories on a weekly basis in a local newspaper.

As Moffat got older he began writing more fantasy works, often delving into plots involving espionage and assassins. During the 2000s he became a fan of Robert E. Howard (the creator of Conan the Barbarian) and interested in traditional Sword and Sorcery fantasy.

His writing style is sometimes action-packed and incorporates fight choreography, martial arts, and detailed (often metaphorical) plots. His earliest major work (The Crimson Companions Trilogy, 1995-1996) is a series of three novels which focuses heavily on a technological/magical arms race and espionage/sabotage/assassinations, focusing on metaphors for the real world's thirst for armaments and firearms.

In Winter 1999 Moffat created the fictional fantasy kingdom known as Korovia. Since then he has worked on many different projects set in the fictional world, including his series of heroic fantasy novels "The Adventures of Wrathgar", his dark fantasy short stories for "The Lilith Bloodstone Series", and his Sword & Sorcery series "Wulfric the Wanderer". Moffat continues to write both short stories and novels set in the fictional kingdom of Korovia, with plans to introduce many more characters and books in the future.

In Autumn 2013 Moffat created the alternative history / historical fiction world known as Alt-Earth. This alternative version of Earth allows Moffat to write stories which overlap characters, places and objects within a shared timeline, and to have characters from different stories interact. Such stories include the Agent Borealis historical fiction spy thriller "Hunting Hitler", the AfroFantasy / Urban Fantasy duology "The Quorum of Kaŝe", and the boxing vigilante novel "The Girl in the Red Hoodie". The different stories may contain magic, spies and vigilantes but coexist within the same time world and timeline, but with possible interactions and overlaps between characters, places, objects and interconnected plots.

Fantasy authors whom Moffat enjoys include (in alphabetical order by last name): Marion Zimmer Bradley, Terry Brooks, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Lewis Carroll, Elaine Cunningham, L. Sprague de Camp, Troy Denning, Dave Duncan, David Eddings, Terry Goodkind, Jeff Grubb, Tracy Hickman, Robert E. Howard, Robert Jordan, Guy Gavriel Kay, Stephen King, Richard A. Knaak, Mercedes Lackey, C.S. Lewis, H. P. Lovecraft, George R. R. Martin, Kate Novak, Terry Pratchett, J. K. Rowling, R.A. Salvatore, J. R. R. Tolkien, Margaret Weis and Tad Williams. Charles Moffat's YouTube Channel features a variety of book reviews of various authors he has read and enjoyed.

At present Charles Moffat is hard at work releasing six or more new works per year, including new works for the Adventures of Wrathgar and the Wulfric the Wanderer series.

The Adventures of Wrathgar

  • The Assassin's Trail
  • The Blizzard's Daughter
  • The Coven's Wolves
  • The Demon's Sacrifice
  • The Exorcist's Dagger
  • The Frost Giant's Tomb

    Bonus Material

  • The Sunken Castle
  • The Adventures of the Bogatyr

  • The Bogatyr & the Cursed Inn
  • Dark Shadows in the Moonlight
  • The Bogatyr & the Rusalka's Lament
  • The Bogatyr & the Gentle Giant
  • A Bag of Silver, A Bag of Bones
  • The She-Wolf of Eraska
  • The Midnight Dragon
  • The Bogatyr & the Cursed Parcel

    Anthology Collections

  • The Adventures of the Bogatyr
  • The Lilith Bloodstone Series

  • The Black Rose
  • Rise of the Red Moon
  • The Baby & the Village
  • One to be Reckoned With
  • The Night of the Dead
  • On Death's Door
  • The Emissary of Darkness
  • The Astral Plane
  • Out for Blood

    Anthology Collections

  • The Lilith Bloodstone Omnibus
  • Wulfric the Wanderer

  • Portal of Destiny
  • The Cult of the She-Bear
  • Born of Blood and Ice
  • The Scarlet Arena
  • Shifting Shadows in Iztark
  • Black Monoliths of Al-Kazar
  • The Unbreakable Arrow
  • The Raven's Feast

    Anthology Collections

  • The Wanderer Cycle
  • Chronicles of Korovia

  • A Hound Named Hunter
  • The Hab & the Witch
  • Pawn of the Demon Prince
  • The Ghost of Garter Street
  • The Worgs of Winter
  • The Seawolf of Weyvin
  • Raiders of Pravda Vremya
  • Alt-Earth

  • A Dark Road in Louisiana
  • Folly of the Forlorn
  • Hunting Hitler
  • The Dragontree of Kaŝe
  • The Dragonslayers of Kaŝe
  • The Quorum of Kaŝe
  • The Girl in the Red Hoodie
  • Korovia Myths, Legends and Fables

    As part of Moffat's world building process for Korovia he created a number of myths, legends and fables set within the fictional kingdom.

  • The Korovia Creation Myth
  • The Myth of the Dark Eclipse
  • The Legend of Dark Maya
  • The Legend of Nordica
  • The Fable of Sir Fartsalot
  • The Fable of the Boring Dwarf
  • The Fable of the Crow and Raven
  • The Fable of the Dragon's Bank
  • The Fable of the Graverobber and the Cursed Cutlass
  • The Fable of the Ice Mephit
  • The Fable of the Incubus of Izhamet
  • The Fables of the Jackalope
  • The Fable of the Sibilant Snake
  • The Fable of the Wolfkin
  • The Imp's Arrow
  • The Princess and the Foxalope
  • The Turkey Vulture's Tale
  • Poetry Books by Charles Moffat

  • a dream of unfettered roses
  • Dreaming of Zen Archery
  • Ancient Stories Dreamt Of
  • List of Unavailable Books

    Some of Moffat's older works are no longer available, due to a variety of reasons, but mostly because he has plans to rewrite them.

  • Paladin Assassin
  • Ice War
  • King Culprit
  • Rise of the Blade
  • Brutus & Avianna
  • The Demon's Pawn (see the replacement Pawn of the Demon Prince)
  • Books Published under Pseudonyms

    Charles Moffat also sometimes publishes books under pseudonyms. Unfortunately those books are not listed here.

    Paintings and Illustrations by Charles Moffat

    Charles Moffat often makes his own paintings, illustrations, logo designs, and maps for his books, having previously studied an Honours BFA in painting at York University. He also sometimes employs illustrators and uses AI art generators to create illustrations.

    Last Updated: July 11th 2024.

    Nerdovore Blog
    Email Author

    Website Design by